Put-in-Bay Visitors & Convention Bureau - Company Logo

Golf Cart Rentals at Put-In-Bay →

Coast Guard Information about Put-in-Bay Boating.

In last month’s Put-in-Bay Gazette, I asked three questions about Put-in-Bay Boating: 1) What is “No Wake” speed? 2) While underway, who on board must wear a life vest? 3) Do you understand the Put-in-Bay Boating buoys and markers in and around Put-in-Bay, Ohio?Put-in-Bay Boating Photo


1) When you pull into the Put-in-Bay Boating channel & central harbor, you are greeted by two markers that say “No Wake.” This means moving at the slowest possible speed while maintaining control of your vessel. This speed can vary depending on wind and current. Remember that you are responsible for any damage to other ships, dockage, etc., created by your boat’s wake.

2) A life jacket must be worn while riding a personal watercraft, such as a jet ski, paddle board, etc. (for all ages). While water skiing, wakeboarding, or being towed (all ages). Children less than ten years of age on any vessel less than 18 feet in length must be wearing a properly fitted PFD. That’s the legal answer. The common sense answer is that all passengers aboard your vessel should be donning a PFD, especially children.

The answer to the third question is beyond the scope of this brief article, but there’s a solution. n“About Boating Safely” is a class taught by the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary. If there is an interest, I will arrange to have the class taught here on the island to promote safe Put-in-Bay Boating. These classes are usually held on a Saturday and would be open to everyone on Put-in-Bay, including friends and family members. Children and teens under the age of 18 are free. Those between 13 – 17 do not need to be accompanied by an adult. Children 12 and under must have a parent.

For adults, there would be a very nominal charge of $20. This Put-in-Bay Boating class will give you the knowledge needed to obtain ODNR certification, and many boat insurance companies offer discounts on boating insurance to boaters who complete “About Boating Safely.” Ohio state law requires anyone born on or after January 1, 1982, to achieve a USCG-approved boating safety course to operate a powerboat more significant than 10 horsepower, including jet skis.

If you want “Put-in-Bay Boating Safely” taught on the island or suggest a location to hold the class, such as the Put-in-Bay Library, call us at 419- 379-9000. It would be great to have this class before the boating season is underway. Let’s be accident-free on the waters surrounding Put-in-Bay this year! For a free Vessel Safety Check or Information about serving in the Coast Guard Auxiliary. Contact the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary at 419-379-9000. Paul Bolden is the commander of Flotilla 091-16- 12 at Coast Guard Station Marblehead and is a seasonal resident of Put-in-Bay


Top 10 Put-in-Bay Links

Put-in-Bay Events 2023

Put-in-Bay Events 2023

Put-In-Bay Events Schedule 2023 Released! It's time to start planning your Put-in-Bay Vacation! The Put-in-Bay Visitors & Convention Bureau Put-in-Bay Events schedule has been finalized. The central reservation center is booking Put-in-Bay's most popular hotels,...

7 Can’t Miss Things To Do In Put-in-Bay

7 Can’t Miss Things To Do In Put-in-Bay

Looking for seven can’t-miss things to do in Put-in-Bay—or just a romantic weekend getaway? Put-in-Bay offers a wide variety of exciting activities! We've compiled a list of seven that stand out from recent road trips to Put-in-Bay, Ohio. Plan a day trip, or stay...

Put-in-Bay Discounts & Packages

Put-in-Bay Discounts & Packages

Put-in-Bay Discounts-Packages - Because Everyone Loves To Save Money! Discounts-Packages are one of the many ways to enjoy a vacation at Put-in-Bay, South Bass Island in Lake Erie. These bundled discounts & packages offer some of the best vacation values at...

Event Calendar

Related Posts.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *